And the greatest of these is love…

Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see. (Hebrews 11:1 NIV84)

If faith is looking forward to God’s future promises, love looks around to the current need. Love is not a feeling, but expresses action. Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self‑seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. (1 Corinthians 13:4-7 NIV84)

My faith that God’s care for my life is often tested, the storm swells around us, and the waves grow larger and more intense, yet I press on, looking only toward Christ as savior, and my Father as daily provider.

But as I fix my eyes on Jesus, and the waves fade from view, something else takes shape. I am more reminded of the people around me, going about their lives in darkness. Living in Northern Virginia reminds me wealth or power often become idols. There aren’t as many visible physical needs in this area and I think that makes it so much harder to recognize the necessity of God’s mercy. But what takes it’s place is an attitude of self-sufficiency and focus on things like career, goals, money, etc. Those things become gods of our life. And the fruit of our worship is not love.

I pray daily that my focus will always first turn to God and honor him as king, and secondly toward my neighbors, expressing my love through my actions.

Leave a Reply

