Grateful to, not just grateful for…

Last year, I set myself to the task of writing everyday. I started with three things each day for which I was grateful. That lasted all of 15 days. I recently re-read what I had written and felt ashamed for letting it slip away. I purposed myself to begin again. So here we are.

I will begin with a lesson I’ve learned in the past few months. Gratefulness requires direction. It needs to point to someone else. I’m happy with the things I have, my family, money, and so on. But gratefulness requires humility. If I am the creator of my own fortune, or master of my own circumstances, to whom would I be grateful? So I will begin with this.

I am grateful for mercy. I am a sinner, deserving of nothing, yet, God loves me. I do not know why.

He will not always accuse, nor will he harbor his anger forever;
he does not treat us as our sins deserve or repay us according to our iniquities.
Psalm 103:9-10 (NIV)

To whom are you grateful?

 

Leave a Reply

