Day Thirteen

I am grateful for the lessons I learned when I ran my own business. I started it from my bedroom. I began calling around to people that I new and asking if I they had any design work for me to do. While none seemed to present itself, I had one client ask me if I could get signs for them. It peaked my interest and started me on an incredible journey, including opening an office, learning photography and building sales reporting tools for the company. I met a lot of interesting people and was schooled by life’s tough lessons. All those experiences prepared me for the future.

I am grateful for music. I didn’t really appreciate music until I got older and began to find my taste. My wife tells me I am old soul and that seems to fit my taste in music. I love big band, oldies, jazz, soul, and the classic crooners like Sinatra and Martin. My father in law introduced me to Johnny Cash and country music, which I love. Music calms me, it helps me focus. I love the stories it tells with words and melodies.

I am grateful for my little radio that I bought from Radio Shack. On it I listened to the Mariners beat the Yankees for the first time in the playoffs. I listened to the Trail Blazers play against the legendary Michael Jordan in the NBA championships and I many nights instead of going to sleep I listened to Old Time Radio with Stan Freeburg. Freeburg was a voice over actor for many years and is credited as the Beaver in Lady and the Tramp as well as numerous animated cartoons. I learned an incredible appreciation of the power of the voice. I love old radio shows from the 20s – 40s during the golden age of radio. Never is a scary story so real as when you are picturing it in your mind, late at night, under the covers.

So those are my reflections tonight. What are you grateful for?

Leave a comment