Day Twelve

So I’ve noticed something as I’ve been writing these blog posts over the last eleven days. At the beginning of this journey, I really didn’t want to write. In fact, it was all I could do to drag myself to the computer to conjure up some feelings of gratefulness. But, as time passes, each day it gets a little easier. Each day my mind is a little clearer and my memories a little sharper.

Experts say that it takes at least 20 days of repeating an action for it to become habit, and now I see why. I’m now looking for things to be grateful for every day and reminding myself of stories throughout the day. I actually don’t have to force myself to write anymore. I’m enjoying the journey. So, continuing on…

I am grateful to my parents who introduced me to my first political experience. It actually happened when I was 16 years old. My mom had heard of an event put on by some local political activists. She asked if I wanted to attend. I’m glad I did, because that night at dinner, I met a woman who hosted a radio show. Before I new it, she invited me and my mom onto her program to talk about our political opinions. I loved it, I couldn’t get enough, in fact I even applied for a local weekly teen talk show. My involvement grew from there and turned into an amazing adventure. But I always look back and remember that night and thank my parents for their support.

I am grateful that I went to private school. From fourth grade through seventh grade, I attend a private school in Albany, Oregon. It was the most formative time in my life and I grew with leaps and bounds. That school offered me a chance to push my mind, learn what I loved, and sharpen my skills. It was those teachers that offered my a door to a wider world of learning. I even had one teacher in fifth grade that taught me rudimentary calculus. I am grateful that God provided the means to attend that school and teach me things that I carry today.

I am grateful for the insurance provided by T-Mobile that allowed us to begin IVF and lead to our baby girl. Prior to last year, my wife and I always believed that God would give us children, but we took the stance that if He meant it to happen, then he would open the door. About two years ago, we were suddenly impressed with the need to get a doctor’s opinion. I’m sure you’re saying to yourself, why didn’t they go earlier? My only answer is, it wasn’t God’s timing. Anyway, T-Mobile’s insurance covered most of the cost, and, while we still don’t have a good answer as to why we didn’t get pregnant, we have our daughter. I will always be grateful for that.

So now it’s your turn. What are you grateful for?

One thought on “Day Twelve

  1. I am so grateful that you encourage me to live bravely in Christ everyday. You have taught me so much about worldly influences and how they penetrate and infect our thinking. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

